IAU - International Architects Union Gold Medal 2011

| September 27, 2011 | 0 Comments

siza IAU  gold medal award

IAU - International Architects Union Gold Medal 2011
The International Architects Union decided to give the Gold Medal to the known architect Siza Vieira. The candidature of Porto architect to one of the most prestigious architectural awards, was proposed ??by RIBA - Royal Institute of British Architects, announced the website of Portuguese Order of Architects, Southern Regional Chamber

“(…) It’s Architecture cannot be copied, but is a fine example for young architects. He never gave in to easyness or fashion. He is the “Architect” of the 20th century’s final quarter and e continues, in this 21st century, to incarnate the excelency and the biggest bets of the job.”, referes the press release sent by the IAU.

The Portuguese Order of Architects had already presented the candidature of Álvaro Siza Vieira both in 2002 and in 2005, but this was only given in the 2011 edition.

The awards and the gold medal of the IAU are attributed every three years,

The Awards and the Gold Medal of the UIA are awarded every three years, at the Congress of the International Union of Architects. Created in 1961 to reward professionals whose merit, talent or actions are of an international scope, the Awards are honor-based. The Gold Medal was established by the Council of the UIA in 1984 to devote an architect who has been distinguished by his work and the pursuit of the profession, the quality of its achievements and its commitment to the communities, society and promotion of architectural art.

The Gold Medal Award and the UIA in its 2011 edition will be officially awarded at a ceremony taking place at 24. World Congress of Architects in Tokyo, Japan, September 27, 2011.

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Awards, by the International Architects Union

Leave a Reply